Newbie here with a few puffer questions

circesmagic

Hello Everyone, new here to the board, alot of information is to be had here....I have a 220 gallon tank, I have 8 damsels and 1 Porcupine Puffer, I have been trying to read up on them and make him as happy and keep him as healthy as possible....I understand you can feed them shell food, like clams and such but my question is this...Can I go to a supermarket and just buy clams from the fish department and drop them in the tank, or is there a special food at the pet store I should be looking at?? Any information as far as books or websites would be GREATLY appreciated! Thanks in advance!

leftyblite

Welcome to the boards!!!
My proc puffer loved the frozen clams I got from the LFS. Probably cheaper than the market. Plus mine loved to hunt and snack on my snails and hermit crabs I kept as a cleanup crew. It really helps to keep their beak down. Good luck!!

dragonzim

You can feed him the clams that they sell at the seafood section of your local supermarket. As long as the clams are still alive when you get them, which they should be otherwise you shouldnt eat them anyway, they will be a great addition to his diet.

ccampbell57

Originally Posted by CircesMagic
Hello Everyone, new here to the board, alot of information is to be had here....I have a 220 gallon tank, I have 8 damsels and 1 Porcupine Puffer, I have been trying to read up on them and make him as happy and keep him as healthy as possible....I understand you can feed them shell food, like clams and such but my question is this...Can I go to a supermarket and just buy clams from the fish department and drop them in the tank, or is there a special food at the pet store I should be looking at?? Any information as far as books or websites would be GREATLY appreciated! Thanks in advance!