Odyssea Light Question

I'm a new saltwater hobbyist and already need to upgrade my lighting as I didn't realize that my anemones couldn't make it with the lights that I had. Anyways, I'm a college student so I have a tight budget when it comes to this stuff and it looks like the Odyssea lights are pretty reasonable compared to others. I have researched a little bit as I know the saying "you get what you pay for". Some people back in 2006 claimed that these systems got overheated and were even known to catch fire!!! The new 08s that are out claim to run cooler, but has anybody actually had any experience with these lights??? Any advice would be appreciated!!!

05xrunner

i had the 48" 760w light and it was just fine. the ballast dont push the true 250w so the bulbs if they are 10k look yellow and kinda dim.
I replaced my ballast with coralvue ones and switched to 14k bulb and was great. way way cheaper then any other brand of same power.
Now i think i seen a few people with the new ones and they look brighter and more white. So i am not sure if they made changes to the ballast to run the true wattage now

codylowe

Originally Posted by 05xrunner
http:///forum/post/2440178
i had the 48" 760w light and it was just fine. the ballast dont push the true 250w so the bulbs if they are 10k look yellow and kinda dim.
I replaced my ballast with coralvue ones and switched to 14k bulb and was great. way way cheaper then any other brand of same power.
Now i think i seen a few people with the new ones and they look brighter and more white. So i am not sure if they made changes to the ballast to run the true wattage now
I did the exact same thing as 05xrunner and am very happy with the output and growth i've seen.

morgs