oh god, not again! HELP!

nano reefer

My huge 200 polyps raqdioactive dragoneye rock is losing numbers. Slowly polyps have been disappearing, and today i noticed some purple slime stuff on about 10 polyps. I was able to shake it loose and peel it off. Params are all spot on and havent changed in a real long time. This has happened to 2 other zoo colonies i have owned.

M

markeo99

pest maybe naudibranch or zoa spiders will work from colony to colony I am no expert does everything else seem healthy

nano reefer

i have another zoo colony i got on satudray that has lost about 5-10 polyps already. I examined it and found nothing. The green colony is so big it's hard to notice things on it, but i will check again.
Should i freshwater dip? How long should the dip be?

flricordia

Originally Posted by Nano Reefer
http:///forum/post/2632388
i have another zoo colony i got on satudray that has lost about 5-10 polyps already. I examined it and found nothing. The green colony is so big it's hard to notice things on it, but i will check again.
Should i freshwater dip? How long should the dip be?
I would do a freshwater dip. Also do you have enough flow going over them in the tank?
What I do on the freshwater thing, and I do not know if it is the way to do it, but I have not lost anything yet and the zoas open back up within an hour most time, maybe longer but not much, is get a 5gl bucket of freshwater to temp and ph, place the colony, frag, whatever into the water and I use a Maxijet 1200 to blow all over the colony for a minute. I make sure all the polyps have closed before I place them in the water.
The hard stream doesn't harm the closed polyps and blows loose any fungus, critters and algea.

flricordia