Opihura - Help ! / Anyone - Starfish help!!

keonia

Opihura - I recently got a red starfish - formite (Sp) because it's little and it doesn't get big. Well, after 2 weeks of being in my tank, I noticed remnants of her coming off. Like red goey stuff on the LR. I checked my water parameters :(
Salinity - 1.025
PH - 8.2
Nitrate - .25
Nitrite - .10
Ammonia - .50
Temp - 80
tank - been up for 8 months now 37 gallon
I did a 20% water change and the star seems to look a little better but can you tell me whats that goey stuff and is there a chance that she will recover?
She's clinging to my LR tighter than before the water change and she has the black spots on her body - the normal spots.

danedodger

I'm not Opihura and I'll warn you, I have no experience and only a bit of info on these guys but... Your nitrites and ammonia definitely need to go away. You did good doing a water change and hopefully brought your nitrates down (they weren't sky high but try to keep them below 20 at all times, as close to 0 as possible) Why do you still have trites and ammonia in there? Those should be 0. You may've added the guy too soon. I think the rest of your numbers are ok. MAYBE (don't change it till someone more experienced with this comes along) the salinity and pH could go up just a tiny bitsy smidge? I really think those're good where they're at for stars though.
I don't know if the one you have is one of those harder to keep/more delicate stars but if so that may be one problem. Hard to keep/delicate invert + not quite there water parameters = uh oh!
If she's basically "decaying" right in front of your eyes then something in the water parameters is definitely not quite right, I'd say. But I'm also pretty sure that if you get those water parameters up to specs she'll recover if she's not too far gone. I do know that stars have some pretty amazing regenerative powers so there's hope!!
Best of luck to you and your lil star!!!!!! :cheer:

keonia

THanks DaneDodger