ot - how much have you spent on your tank?

timsedwards

Hi Friends,
Just thought I would ask a moderately depressing question! Out of curiosity really, how much have you spent on your current tank(s) setup and over how long? Im a university student so money is tight but is frightening!
I will start - I have probably spent about £2000 which is $3100.
Anyone else?

nm reef

My wife bought me a 55 gal aquarium & stand as a Christmas gift in 1999. I've always had fresh water systems and she wanted me to explore the marine hobby with her gift.
I set the new tank up on the first day of January 2000....since then I've added a second 58 gal fish only system and gotten rid of all the fresh water stuff. Total spent is somewhere around $4000-$5000...and I'm looking at up-grades that will run a few grand more.
The wife got me a relatively in-expensive gift...not knowing how much would be invested to fully develope it.

richard rendos

120 gallon tank reef ready $210.00
stand $175.00
canopy $125.00
dual 400 watt retro kit w/20K bulbs $330.00
skimmer $300.00
140 pounds LR $300.00
sand $80.00
chiller $660.00
heater $40.00
sump $135.00
calcium reactor w/media/CO2 system $185.00
second chamber for calcium reactor $40.00
return pump $119.00
3 maxi-jet 1200's $60.00
wavemaker $179.00
corals/fish/inverts $1500.00+
mag float $25.00
misc plumbing $60.00
osci-wave powerhead oscillator $60.00
generator $300.00
GFCI outlets installed by tank $120.00
power strips $40.00
total is $5043.00 but most of these items were either bought at wholesale or used from ---- or other hobbiests. not counting all the changes I have made over the years...different skimmers, refugiums, sumps, light setups, etc. And that is just in the 120 gallon tank.

E

elan

i traded my friend some fishing rods for his tank. tank, stand and cannopy. and lighting setup.
since then, i have spent at least $3500... and still have about that much to go before i start on my next tank :)