please help how to get rid of bristle worms?

I have realized that these bristle worms has taken over my tank. I was told by a person that does saltwater tanking that's the best way to get rid of bristle wormswould be to air out the rocks. I have done that and it seems like the worms dried up inside the rocks. now my question is how to get the dead worms out of my rocks? can somebody please please please help me with this situation I'm pretty new to the salt water tank hobby. thanks in advance Sharmaine

flower

I have realized that these bristle worms has taken over my tank. I was told by a person that does saltwater tanking that's the best way to get rid of bristle wormswould be to air out the rocks. I have done that and it seems like the worms dried up inside the rocks. now my question is how to get the dead worms out of my rocks? can somebody please please please help me with this situation I'm pretty new to the salt water tank hobby. thanks in advance Sharmaine
Hi,

Sigh...bristle worms are not bad guys, they are part of the cleaning crew. If you have too many, it's because you overfeed your fish, when too much food is being wasted...they are cleaning it up for you. They won't over populate unless they have the extra food, so that is always in proportion to your bristle worm population.

Any time you remove the rock and let it air out...you kill the living critters in it, that creates an ammonia spike, which is a good thing if you are just setting up your tank.

If your tank has living fish in it:
You can't get the dead critters out of the dried out rock... soak the rock in saltwater in a separate tub until it "cures"...that means until the ammonia caused by the dead and dying has stopped, you will see the same test results you do when setting up a new tank...first is the ammonia spike, then nitrites and last nitrates. Once the ammonia and nitrites reach 0, and you see only nitrates...the rock is cured and can be placed back into the display tank.