please help with yellow tang

scotty

i have a yellow tang that is acting very strange. i first noticed it last night and through out the day today...he is staying in one corner of the tank and swimming eradically in jerking motion.....prior to this he swam all over the tank in a normal fashion and was quite active....i also noticed that around his eyes he has what appear to be little holes or dark specks of discoloration(they look like holes to me and specks to a friend of mine)....the water parameters are fine if that helps and he is alone in a 75 with a small hippo tang and baby spiny box puffer. anyway, i am a fairly new hobbyist and look forward to your answers...thanks...scott

beth

Administrator
Staff member
Scott, can you tell us what your water readings are: including nitrates and phosphates?
How long have you had your tank set up? How long have you had your sick tang? And, what was the last fish you added to the tank, and how long ago did you add it?
What type tank do you have? FO, Reef?? Any LR, inverts?
Also, if you have a magnifying glass, please take a close look at the tang from nose to tail and then report back on anything that you see out of the ordinary. In the discolored areas you mention, see if you can discern if the skin looks eroded or if there is something actually on the skin, like a coating, or is the area just discolored, but the flesh is in tact....get down to details in discription [hopefully you do have a mag glass].

scotty