Power Outage?

reefmad

how long would it be okay for a 55 gallon reef tank fully stocked corals and few fish to go without power before problems start to arise?i know not week but is it safe for like 2 or 3 days ? i dont have to worry bout temp..problems for recent huricanes and Ivan on way.. So wondering about this ??

viet-tin

im thinking you should be ok for a few days...just need some water movement...maybe a few battery operated air pumps would do you some good. But im no expert so ill let someone else come and clear this up for you.

eg_hatch

Battery air pumps are good, but you going need like 3-4 of those..and after the couple of days do a water change.
But if you got a generator thats the best.

streetdoc

Hey ReefMad. I decided to go a different route and use a power inverter (makes 110 VAC out of 12 VDC) I had to go with a 400 watt because that was all they had in stock at the time but it is enough to power a 20" TV / VCR combo. It can be connected to a car cigarrette lighter plug or clipped directly on the battery terminals. Because of the fact I could be at work for up to 72 hours at a stretch if a strom would hit, I decided to buy a deep cycle marine battery to power the inverter. When a storm approaches, I plug in my battery charger and connect it to the battery, the battery to the inverter, and the inverter to my main pump in the sump and let it go. The charger will keep the battery topped off while the power is on and the battery will keep things going when power goes out. The charger will recharge the battery when power comes back on. A generator will not work while I am away because there is no one around to refuel it for me. I can always use my car battery when I return from work if the marine battery is dead and of course I can recharge that one by starting the car periodically. The inverter will also power fans, AC air bubblers, living room lamps, etc. a 400w will no turn on a 130watt PC strip ( I tried) a larger one should though.