powerheads necessary?

saltywhit67

How necessary are powerheads. I have never used one before and i seem to be doing allright with my tank. Should i get some even if everything is going okay?

footbag

If you don't have any other form of water movement then they are nessesary. I just took my PH out of my nano and replaced it with a spraybar hooked to my return pump. Nothing to get stuck on, and more real estate in my nano.

reefnut

I dream for the day I can throw my power heads in the trash... replaced with closed loops, maybe a couple SCWD's or some sea swirls. One of these days :happyfish
As for water movement, water movement is very important.

moraym

Even in my FOWLR tank I have powerheads. I used to not have any, and areas where the current was low would be very prone to algae. Once I added a couple powerheads, the current was decent around the entire tank and algae is no longer able to grow as easily thanks to the stronger current.

nemo lover

Yes agreed. You should have ph's. What size tank do you have? also what kind of critters do you have? They might be doing good now but in the long run you might run into problems. You also might get alot of hair algea and cyano from the dead spots .

timg

It depends on the system and what type of flow you have in that system.
Example if you have a FO 50gal and a hob filter that has a 600gph Flow than probably don't need a ph. If you have a 50 gal with a reef setup and only a HOB with 600 GPH flow than you need to probably add several PH's to keep nutrients and waste in the water column(sp). It truly depends on the system and personal preference.
Currently I have a 55 with a HOB filter with 400gph flow three 200gph PH's and a HOB protein skimmer with a 200gph flow. I would like to replace my system with an overflow with a return pump of 800gph and 2 200gph ph's hidden behind my LR since my current tank cannot accomodate a closed loop.
Tell us what system you have and we might be able to give some ideas and opinions.