pygmy seahosre

fishboy52

i want to order a pair of pygmy seahorses by mail order but i don't want to start another tank i aready have a ten gallon tank with fish (clown, & goby)................. here is my brilliant idea, i used to breed guppies and have this type of plastic hang on breeder box with holes to exchange water.... here's what i'll do, cover the holes with netting so they don't swim out, put lr and ls with some plants (plants will be fake) to resemble a mini tank in another tank, type of deal.......... the breeder box hold 1 gallon and with my research thats inof for a pair of pygmies,
i have a feeling it'll work but since i'm still new to sw i wanted to run it by u guys
seahorse info- captive breed, eating frozen baby brine....
and i'm buying for $17.5 for a pair, is that a fair price
thanks

poniegirl

:notsure: Just MO, but it doesn't sound terribly attractive to have a 1 gallon box in a ten gallon tank.
And the horses wouldn't seem to end up with a fair shake..

alyssia

What else are you going to feed them? Frozen brine has no nutrition value.
And FYI, I've never heard of dwarf seahorses that eat frozen.

fishboy52

i think your right instead of putting a 1gl thing into my tank i going to buy a tank like DeMartini's and build a small tank buy my gigantic ten gallon.
Would this be fine....... since its so small the light that comes with it it 7wtts
and it's 1gl could i put any coral in there that are safe for pygmys

poniegirl

PLEASE do realize that no seahorse, as Allysia has said, will survive on frozen brine shrimp.
I believe dwarf seahorses require fresh hatched LIVE brine, not frozen.
The next thing to consider is the lengths you will need to go to in order to keep the water quality excellent in that small a tank. I don't know personally, I've not had a smaller SW than ten gallons, but I have heard it's difficult at best.
Additionally, your filtration and water flow issues will be, again, difficult at best.