QT inverts?

fishgirl

I've been doing fish-only tanks for many years now, but never once tried an invert. From what everybody here has been saying, a cleaner shrimp is the thing to try. I am planning to eventually uprade one of my 30 gallons to a tank with LR, my sebea clown, a cleaner shrimp, and possibly a small flame angel if there's room (tell me if there is). My question is, do you have to QT inverts? Just like you would fish? How long? Also, do cleaner shrimp need to be fed often?? All help, suggestions and advice is welcome, thanx in advance! ~Fishgirl

clayton

Hmmm, tricky one! I think you have to view reef tanks differently to fish tanks. You can virtually sterilize the water in a fish tank and treat all fish before you introduce them. In a reef tank I personaly dont think you should use a UV steriliser. You are looking to create a mini ecosystem where many microscopic organisms are beneficial.
Remember the majority of disease treatments cant be used in reef tanks as they contain copper which would kill the inverts.
QT for inverts may be beneficial in some ways, you certainly do not want to introduce Bristle Worms, Flatworms or Rock Anemones to your display tank and QT would help you spot and remove these. However, not many people have QT tanks that can support inverts as well as their main tank.
I have never treated any of my invert tanks for any diseases. I have only ever lost one fish to whitespot.
As far as the easiest inverts to start with, I would say the shrimps, crabs and feather dusters (tubeworms/fanworms). Condylactis is probably the easiest anemone to keep and only requires modest lighting.
If you are setting up a reef tank it may well be worth QT your fish before you introduce them as treatment is far easier when inverts are not present.