recommend sharks please

slick

I am setting up a 240 long 96x24x25. I am trying to decide on what type of tank to make this reef, fowlr, or a shark/sting ray tank. Could you guys give me some species of sharks that would work nicely in this size tank. I would like to stay away from sharks that don't look like sharks. Do you know what I mean? Thanks again.

barryi

im no shark expert but i know that the bamboos are fairly hardy and cheaper. you couldnt do a white tip reef shark or a black tip reef shark because the tank is too small.

ac

Unfortunatly I don't think you could keep a "shark looking shark" for its full life span in a tank that size. I'm kind of partial to sting rays. I have four and they're very interactive and full of personality. They would do fine in a tank that size. Just my 2 cents. Good luck:)

splash1914

IMO, leoaprds are the most realistic sharks out there for the home aquarium (mine never stop swimming).... beside of course the black tip (but this shark needs a huge home like novice150 has).... but the leopards get to about 6', they will need a new home after a few years....... leopards are really hard to get now....

grouperhead

IMO, it is hard to beat a coral cat, brown banded bamboo, whitespotted bamboo, or epaulette for looks. You could also house a pair of them in that tank for life. My .02. Bo

grouperhead

Nurses get very large. In the wild, they are pretty inactive. They lay on the sand under coral heads, and every know and then "root" for crabs, shrimp, and other things burried in the sand. I personally have never seen one for sale, but I think I've read they are quite expensive. HTH. Bo

ac

splash, beautiful tank. What size is it, and what kind of filtration and skimmer do you use?
Thanks,
Rich

slick

If I decide to set up a shark tank. What do I do with the sharks why they out grow the tank?

splash1914