reef temp

jonthefishguy

if you start at 77 a degree or two up wont be so bad. But once you start at 80 and then go a degree or two, bleaching can occur. remember if you are not using an adequate filteration system that helps oxygenate the water, the warmer the water, the less oxygen there is in it.

bizoid

jon. please keep in mind that i am a noob. what is bleaching?? i recently added a chiller because i was tired of putting ice bags in tank. i have an in-line sump with lr filtration & skimer.

jonthefishguy

Zooxanthellae (microscopic algae) live in the tissue of many corals in a symbiotic relationship. Up to 90 per cent of the coral’s energy requirements comes from the zooxanthellae so corals are highly dependant on this symbiotic relationship.Coral bleaching occurs when the coral host expels its zooxanthellae. Photosynthetic pigments of the zooxanthellae give corals much of their colour. Therefore without the zooxanthellae, the tissue of the coral animal appears transparent and the coral’s bright white skeleton is revealed.Corals begin to starve once they bleach. While some corals are able to feed themselves, most corals struggle to survive without their zooxanthellae. If conditions return to normal, corals can regain their zooxanthellae, return to normal colour and survive. This stress, however, is likely to cause decreased coral growth and reproduction, and increased susceptibility to disease.

bizoid

jon. are you a coraloligist or scientist or something? could you pretty please break that down in laymans terms for the steeeeelers noob.

jonthefishguy

there are living algae in coral, if the water gets too warm, they loose their color and starve, then die.....sometimes they come back, but most times they just die.

bizoid

jon. my tank was reaching 84 degrees @ times. when i added my chiller i immedeately put temp @ 76. so this could be the reason why a couple of things have died on me? are you a coralologist or not???

jonthefishguy