Releasing fish to the wild?

lukeb321

Since most fish are caught in the wild, has anybody ever re-released fish back into the wild? If so, where, I just talked to some guy at the lfs who uses ocean water from south florida (where he lives) and said it great. Was wondering if you released fish at the ocean/beach, would they last?

fishieness

IMO it is an incredibly irresponsible thing to do. You dont know what parasites you may be releasing into the while or any pathogens. Even if you always used florida water, and you still dotn know about your live rock or where your fish was caught, or any other inverts or fish. It is asking for possible disaster.

1journeyman

Probably not.. unless it is a fish suited for the particular environment is was released into.
Also, I'd guess this is illegal.

soexcited

even though im new to the saltwater hobby i can add my 0.2...we currently have a problem here off the coast of the nc beaches with lionfish..the consenus is that they came here from saltwater hobbyist releasin them when they got too big or didnt know how to take care of them in the first place..now they are killin off native fish...there was a big article in our paper a while back..so i would have to say definately dont do it..no matter what kinda fish it is

mikeyjer

IT is illegal to release freshwater fish into lakes and streams. Most of them are NOT native here, same with saltwater fish. Just a while back, there was a fish farm rasing a type of flying carp, then flood came along and it released it into streams and lakes. Now they're wayyyyyyy populated and taking over the new lakes that they now live in. So NO it is NOT advisible to release a NON-native specie into our streams, lakes or ocean. :happyfish

scotts