Scooter Blenny questions

cuteclown

I just got a scooter Blenny from my lfs about 3 days ago. They told me that Scooter Blennies were a good starter fish. Because I am new to SW. He seems to be doing fine. But, when I read about them, it says they are a high maint. fish. Do you guys see this with them?
I really like him, and he is really cute! I just want to see if he needs any special care. Thanks for any help. :joy:

grumpygils

Originally Posted by CuteClown
I just got a scooter Blenny from my lfs about 3 days ago. They told me that Scooter Blennies were a good starter fish. Because I am new to SW. He seems to be doing fine. But, when I read about them, it says they are a high maint. fish. Do you guys see this with them?
I really like him, and he is really cute! I just want to see if he needs any special care. Thanks for any help. :joy:
Scooters are notorius for only eating copepods. My stupidity killed two. They need an established tank (> 1 yr) with atleast 50-75 lbs of rock to sustain copepods. I assume you have not seen him eat? I had one that would eat frozen once in a while but still starved. It is a horrible starter fish.
I think they are the bomb and I have four reef tanks up to 100G and still have not gotten another. A good practice to always see a fish eat at the LFS before you buy him. I doubt the SB would of eaten at the LFS.
What size tank, how much rock and how old? Maybe you are covered?
MC

i also got a SB, i have had mine for 3 days now, and all he does is eat off my LR. he seems to be doing fine. he is very active. i really hope he doesnt die on me, i like him more than my clowns...

cuteclown