Skimmer Questions

zincoxide

I was wondering if venturi style skimmers are better than airstone skimmers?
I've done a little searching around and it seems as though venturi are better but one draw back is the air bubbles have less contact time with the water.
I was thinking of making a venturi skimmer but instead of having the water/air mixture come into the chamber and down, I was thinking of having it go through 3 or 4 feet of 1/4" tubing coiled around and around until it gets to the bottom where it will enter the chamber.
Would something like this work? Am I on the right track?
Budget is a huge concern and cannot afford a ton of money to buy a skimmer, that's why I was going to make one.

dw62

I'm not an expert, but I believe that the airstones eventually will get clogged and need cleaned alot. Isn't your concept similar to a home made denitrator? Not sure you would have enough flow through the tubing to effectively skim enough.
Just my 2 cents worth!!

acrylic51

Both style skimmers mentioned worked well in their own respects, but with either they have their limitations.....the airstone skimmer to get proper contact time would have to be huge.....If you do a search way back on a guy in PA use to own Rons' Saltwaterheaven use to make these skimmers that were pretty decent, but the things were like 5' tall.....
Venturi skimmers are good skimmers again, but with all the advances in the hobby not real efficient IMO......they are still made though, by some companies....

acrylic51

Either style can be built, but it's alittle more detail than what meets the eye when it comes to building a skimmer properly........

acrylic51