Something hatched in my tank???

sammyjoe

Hello all,well I am kinda new at this salt water fish tank stuff,i've had my tank up and going for a few months.Anyhow today I bought a new piece of live rock and I didn't notice till tonight while looking into the tank with a flashlight but I have all these very tiny hatchings floating around in my tank.
They are too small to take a picture of but they are shaped like a fish,clear with black eyes.No legs on these critters.I tried looking for a identifying picture somewhere and the closest thing I can find is baby brine shrimp but brine shrimp don't lay eggs on rocks do they??Anyhow if anyone could possibly give me some insight that would be great.Oh and they are swimming if that perhaps helps.

apos

Do you have hermit crabs? Two of mine have reproduced just in the last two weeks: their larvae appear to have no legs, and they sort of float around periodically "popping" here and there.
Pic of closeup:
http://norb.homedns.org/nwp/storycod.../large-68.html
If this is what it is, and you're lucky, you can catch momma releasing them: she'll sort of leap halfway out of her shell and back again, and you'll see what look like a hive of tiny bees on her rear, some of which will fly off each time.
Fairly unlikely that any larval stage of anything (well, anything good, sigh) will live to adulthood in your tank and hermit babies are no exception. If the skimmer and filters don't get them, then at least they'll be a tasty treat for your fish. My clown was quite happy to see them. :)

sammyjoe