SPS question?

verde_ad

How can you tell if a monti, or any sps for that matter, is healthy? I have little monti frag and I would like to be able to tell if it is healthy. The colors are bright and it has a light rim around the outside. Is that the new growth? I am new to sps, so any information would be greatly apreciated.
Thanks,
AJ

spicey

im in about the same position, just got some monti frags and they have their polyps open and look good but im new to sps as well so i cant be sure. does anyone know how much flow is best for these? i have a branching digita, some brown one i dont knwo what it is and a purple encrusting monti. BTW i only have 4 96 watt pcs on my 75 so i put them all up high and they seem good so far......

_kip_

montiporas are they easiest sps to keep.
as long as you have decent water chemistry and high flow they will be fine. and yep, these are stonies that can be kept under pc and vho (granted a good amount) with success. halides seem to push growth and color more... but.... i digress
you will know montis are happy when you see their polyps out. mine are out 24/7. they need no special feedings besides good light and ca/co3 to grow. monti growth can be seen by the white tips or rims. this is the coral building its skeleton and the polyps soon follow. as montis get bigger flow is even more important. without proper flow they will recede and die.

sammiefish

spicey,
I think youll be happy with the Montipora under your 4x96W... I grew a caporcornis with 4x65W for ~6months and the thing tripled in size and was a nice deep red.... sure MH will push growth a bit more but the pc's will work nicely.

_kip_

nah.. you dont want to blast it with small amounts of high pressure water
you want large, broad amounts of low pressure water and in a random motion.
if water just hits it from one side it will grow like a tree blowing one way in a hurricane :(

verde_ad