Starting a 10g what should I get?

lil' tanker

hey guys I am starting a 10g I am very new to sw so could you help me. Give me a stock list and a list of everything I need.

frozenguy

I just started a 10 gallon. From my experience, You could use a lot of LR and LS.. It will really help filter out that small amount of water.. but you will need at least these items!! these are neccesitys:
Hydrometer (measures salinity, get a refractometer $$$$ if you can)
Testing kit for PH/ALK/Nitrites/Nitrates/Ammonia
Salt
water (lots of choices, RO/DI is common)
Net
Heater (50watt should do)
power head for water circulation
lighting (what kind depends on what kind of tank you'll have..)
filter (simple small hang on back will work)
thermometer
you will also basically need an extra bucket with a spare powerhead and heater to mix future water with..
oh and lots of towels!! and some patience!! we all definitly need some of that

bexleyfish

For a new 10g i would buy any live stock that is cheap... the smaller the tank the less stable it will be, not to say a 10g isnt perfect for someone new to the hobby. I would look at a damsel or two just because they are cheap and hardy, if you have a little extra money you could go for a clown (also hardy). Defiantly live rock, if you want to throw in an emerald crab, you could. It is all preference tho. Look for how hardy it is, how cheap it is, and then lastly, how cool looking it is. Eventually once the tank is more stable you can put more money into it and get things that are hard to keep.

lil' tanker

Thanks Bexleyfish. That sounds good what about if I got 2 percula clownfish and then maybe the nano pack on reef packages?

bexleyfish

LR- Live Rock... rocks with certain algaes on them
LS- Live Sand... sang with good bacteria in it
LFS- Local Fish Store... you'll here this one a lot, they are usually helpful
One word of advise, dont be discouraged if things die... it will happen BE veryyyyy patient, it is all extremely worth it in the end