Starting from scratch, Newbie seeks advice

b.miller123

Hello everyone, I am new here,
I haven't had a Saltwater tank (or any tank) in a few years, and the last time I had one, my roommate was the expert, and he pretty much took care of everything or helped me with it.
Well, now I have decided to start another one. Lucky for me the local pet store is having a big sale this weekend, so timing couldn't be better

I am looking for some advice. My plans so far are just to have fish, live rock, and live sand. I don't plan on doing coral (I don't want to have to get MH lights, and I'm new at this so don't want to attempt that just yet). I know all the basics, taking your time and everything. My main concern is wasting money, I'd like to do everything right the first time, or close. I have done some research but still have a few questions:
1. Should I purchase one of the "Setups" that has the enclosed hood with the lights and filtrations stuff already in there? (Like and Eclipse or one of those "Bio-cube" thingies) They seem pricey at first, but not that bad after you factor in everything that is included. I'm just worried that later I will toss the junk that came with the tank and pay again for better stuff. If that is going to happen, then I prefer avoiding that, and just buy a regular glass tank and purchase everything else seperate.
2. Any brand names that I should avoid for specific things? (like tanks, filtering stuff, heaters, lights ..........everything....... and refractometers (I've read the threads, and sounds like something I should just buy now and not worry about later)