STN'ING?

gemmy

I got this coral on Monday and I didn't pay much attention to them when the guy was bagging it (I was more intrigued by the shark fight going on)
. I bring it home and realize during acclimation the base is white.
So now what do I do? Should I frag it just above where the skeleton is exposed and super glue it to a rock? Do I let it be and hope for the best?
My parameters:
Temp: 78
Ammonia:0
Nitrite:0
Nitrate:0
Phosphate:0
Calcium:480
KH: 9 or 161.1 ppm
Ph: 8.4
I have 150 watt metal halides supplemented with 6 65 watt actinics, run protein skimmer, 3 PH's (one Koralia that I forget the model, one nano Koralia (specifically for my chili coral den) & an aqueon (I forget the GPH/model on this one too), a penguin HOB modded as refugium and a Fluval 305 canister.

gemmy

Pretty slow, I compared this pic with some I took earlier in the week and there is minimal change.

meowzer

I'm no expert...BUT...IMO I would cut some of it above the white.....at least give it a chance...and then IF BY SOME CHANCE the otehr survives you are ok...if not...you saved the cut piece
I saved a small piece of an sps by doing just that... :)

gemmy

I'm just mad at myself for not checking it before leaving the store and now I am stuck with it. Lesson learned. There is a small piece that broke off and it is not showing any white, so there might be hope if I frag the rest.

meowzer

Like I said...I am no expert...I wish someone else who had some sps would chime in...BUT from what I have read...cutting would be the best thing
good luck with it :)

btldreef

Fragging usually is the best/only option for STN. Just be glad it's not RTN, that's a b*tch to try to save the corals from.

spanko

I would leave this coral alone myself. The base being white could just be the result of it not getting enough light down there in its previous environment. If you have it in good light, higher flow and your water parameters are withing normal seawater levels I believe this will be fine.
JMO

gemmy