Sump/fuge DIY

sx450 rider

Hey guys! So recently I said I was going to start a 29g biocube. Plans changed and I decided to go with a 55g. I set it all up and plugged in my old canister filter to get it started on cycling. Now I want to turn a spare 20t into a sump/fuge. I have thought about just buying one but I like the idea of building one better. So if anyone has drawings or can point me to some that would be great. Next, what is the best algae to use in the fuge? I know that it kinda comes down to personal preference on that but I really don't even know where to start. This is the first time I will be running a sump. I will have to run all this through a syphon overflow so I won't be able to run a very high rate of flow. Is that going to impede my abilities to grow LPS? Also any input on do's and do not's would be awesome! I'm still pretty new to this and you guys are about the only reference that I really trust. Thank you in advance!

lmforbis

First off I'd make sure you can get the sump into your stand that may be a big factor if it will fit I'd get a 20 long A 20 tall will be hard to work inside of unless you have a stand that is higher than 40". You might be stuck using a 10 gallon because of the front to back dimention.
i made one just using ~1/4 inch plexiglass for the baffles and gluing them in with aquarium safe silicone. You will want to determine what equipment you will be putting in it to make sure you make the chambers big enough.
I bought my first one from a company called Windrider Creations. I t holds 15 gal and is only 9" front to back. It fit well under a 55

I use chaeto morpha in my sump.

beaslbob

I would recommend you set up a test system in the garage or driveway and play with it to get all the adjustments and operation correct. Much better to have a woops there then over the carpet inside.
adjustments:
1) no flood in power out.
2) no flood and normal operation returns when power returns