Tang Question

crazyaqua

I have been reading about tangs recently and i am trying to figure out when i should get one and what kind since i am new to saltwater i would like to try find one that is more hardy then the others. I know they have problems with ick and other diseases but i really want to try and prepare my self as much as i can to make the fish the happiest it can be also a 150 tank is good size for a tang right? thanks for any input :needhelp:

slammy16

I have a 72 gallon tank and i was told "at the most 2 tangs.. and none that get too large"
I did purchase a pruple tang the other day for my first one... i hear they are rather hearty....
I could have gotten a yellow but, to me it seems like everyone has a yellow thats why i went different....
Now... scince i have the purple.. i hear that maybe i could get one more... and it could only be a yellow, or a blue hippo or a Kole........ I really dont plan on getting another but, with a 150gal I would think that you could at least get 2 of the ones i mentioned..
Goodluck with your choices.. just remember to be patient and do whats best for you and your fish.

alexcarden

I would try to get tangs with different body structure. I had a lopezi tang and it was a real cool fish. the blue spots are very bright and at night it camoflauges in with the rockwork. I also like to naso tangs. they are big swimmers and are cool to watch.

I

ivanfj

A kole would be a good beginner tang. They do great eating algae. And for your first tang, try to avoid powder blues, achilies.

teen

if i was u i would look at a convict tang, or a clown tang. there both really cool, but im not sure how hard to keep, but u have a nice size tank so either will probably do good in ur tank. :D

jedi

I have a Blonde Naso tang and they are very hardy and very cool to look at..IMO. I will suggest that any combination of Tangs you get should be of different body types. They can get a little aggresive towards similar tangs.