Tang with Ick-Best Treatment??

potter

I recently purchased a yellow tang on Saturday and noticed Wednesday evening the tang was rubbing against the rock and upon inspection I discovered a few small white specks on the front two fins, and minimal on body. My question is, do I treat with lowering salinity or do I just flush him? I have been told that ick is almost impossible to cure. Will the other fish in the aquarium get ick also? I have a 72 gallon bowfront with a maroon clown, foxface, and damsel.
Any response would be greatly appreciated as this is a new setup and I am still learning. Thanks for your help!

hot883

Read the disease thread on ICH. It is cureable, not easy ,but do-able. Beth is our resident expert. What she says is gospel with fish disease.

jmick

First, in the future you may want to invest in a Quarantine tank so that you can QT all new fish before putting them in your display tank. This will allow you to treat the new fish for Ich if it starts to show signs and keeps your main display tank healthy and parasite free.
Ich is highly contagious and it’s likely that your other fish will come down with it, especially if it’s a new tank. If it were my tank, I’d get the fish into a QT tank and run it at a lowered specific gravity and at a temp in the mid 80’s. In the mean time, I’d let the main tank go fallow for 4-5 weeks. These two steps will help insure your tank stays Ich free.

bob a.

Amen to the QT, but at this stage of the game, if the new fish had it, then its in the tank. You could pull out the newcomer, but please dont flush him, its not his fault... We have had good luck with a medicine called Kick Ick. Believe its by Rallye. Treatement will tank several weeks all told. We have done it on a reef tank and had minimal problems with it affecting the corals or the critters. Normal medication for ick is copper based and that would be fatal to the inverts, so using something reef safe is important.

harndog