Using a Buffer for ph

doncheecho

I'm new to the salt water game...in reading about using a "Buffer", I'm not sure exactly how to use it. I was hoping for some direction.

col

What is the pH level in your tank?
How old is your tank and has it cycled?

doncheecho

Right now the ph is 8.2 It is a new tank that I just set-up. I used live sand and a bio-additive to cycle the tank. I just added a blonde naso tang, volitan lion and maroon clown. Any suggestions?

T

tizzo

You state that you "just set it up" how long ago was this? I ask because buffering may not be your biggest concern right now!!

doncheecho

I set it up this week end. I put in the live sand and bio-additive Friday night and added the fish on Saturday. the guy at the fish store said this was no problem...

greatfullreefer

LFS guys like that should be put out of business. Your tank still needs to cycle 4-6 weeks to build up enough bacteria to sustain the bio load. Adding those fish to even a well established tank all at once would be overkill to say the least. Please do a search on the forum for cycling a tank and research, research and when your done researching, research some more. Its is not your fault, common knowledge would say that the LFS guys should know what he is talking about. In a way i guess its good for business to give bad advice as when fish die you buy more.....pretty bad attitude from self proclaimed experts.

T

tizzo

This is only MY opinion, & somebody correct me if I'm wrong, but you need to go back to your fish store, slap that guy clean in the mouth, suggest that he read or quit, and then leave, here's why...