Warning to all new and not-new hobbiest. MUST READ

krazekajin

I would like to share an experience with you that all must read and follow.
I am a youth pastor and I have my 29 gallon reef tank in my office. So last night after church, I walk into my office and find some of my 14 year old boys playing in my water. After I kill them for knocking off my hammer coral (I repented for my murder
), I am sitting talking to the pastor. We are getting ready to leave the church and it is about 10pm. We start smelling smoke, fire, etc. I start freaking out thinking I burned up my lights are something. I start tearing my office apart trying to find the cause of the electrical burning fire smell.
Anyway, the boys had over flowed my tank with thier playing in the water and water was dripping down a cord and my power strip was on fire. Luckly, I was able to turn it off and there was no damage done, except a charred power strip.
SO PLease.
Make sure that you have drip loops in your cords or place your power strips above the lowest point of your cords so that you don't burn your house down. I can only imagine what would have happened had I not been there at the church to smell the sparking.

sarwiz100

And I cannot reiterate this enough, PLEASE, Please, PLEASE!!!! install gfci's for everything connected to your tanks. A gfci would have kicked out before the smoke started rolling

27mtaylor

That happend on my tank about a year ago. The o-ring went bad on my skilter and water started dripping into a power strip. I caught it in time but it was scary. Since then, I have made sure that I have power strip higher than the low point on all the cords. I have bought a GFI, but have yet to put it in. After hearing about your experience, I may try to get it in tonight!

madmax50

I learned the hard way. I had no GFI when i was out a heater broke zapping just about everything in the tank.Today i installed a GFI.

mrdc