Water Changes

kiriokool

What do i need to do to change my water. What kind of waater do i use and do i add ph. I am new to this so can someone please help.

oceanists

Use Ro or DI water you shouldnt need to add anything for PH if your alk and CA are right your PH will be right on also just make sure you aerate the water for 24 hours

ruaround

How often and % of water is up to you... I 20 small % every other week... Do as Oceanists stated use RO or RO/Di water mix and aerate for 24 hours... top offs do not count as water changes...

granny

I dont have an RO unit so use distilled water (it would be cheaper in the long run to buy the unit-on my list) and have great results. I also use reef crystals 1/2 cup to each gallon of water. Lowes has these great rubber trash cans you can use to mix your salt up at least a day ahead of time, add a heater and powerhead. Make sure the specific gravity and temp are the same as the water in your tank now.
Siphon out at least 20% if this is your first water change. I do 20% a week, just because it keeps my tank looking so fresh and clean!! Then if I ever have to m iss a week, I dont worry about it.
Take this opportunity to change/clean filters-use your siphoned out water to clean out the pads so you dont lose your good bacteria you have worked so hard to gain. clean your skimmer, rinse everything-clean thetops and glass and 3 hours later, your tank will look great and your fish/inver will be thanking you.

agent707

So I've got to spend ANOTHER couple hundred $$$...??? Man, this is becoming a money pit.
OK, let me see if I have this straight. In order to do water changes (Which I should do about every other week), I need to change out roughly 15 gals of water (20% of my 75 gal) and I need.
- 2 big garbage cans (one to siphon and one to mix new water)
- RO Unit
- Keep big bucket of Instant Ocean on hand.
- And probably some tubing.