wet/dry risk ?

wid

Hi,
I am new to wet/dry , I was using Magnum 350 for my 46g, and now I got a 72g, and i am going to use wet/dry with a return pump and over flow. My question is, what if there is a power outage ? what happen when there is no power in the return pump ? thanks
Wid

niger12

If your overflow breaks its siphon when the pump kicks back on it could overflow the tank and if the pump stops and you don't drill a hole in the return line to break the siphon when the pump stops you can overflow the sump. Are you using an internal or external overflow and what brand external? I ran an external for years and it never broke syphon once.

wester97

if you are using a siphon overflow box, the siphon should not brea. this setup is the only way to avoid possible overflows

squidd

Originally posted by Niger12
... drill a hole in the return line to break the siphon when the pump stops ...

:yes:

ejensen

Most return U tubes have a hole drilled in it to stop it break the siphon back into your sump. If it doesn't then drill a hole in it just under the water line so it doesn't spray water all over the place. Test it by turning off your pump to see if it overflows your sump.

adamz

if i am setting up a 75 gal fish only tank could i get buy with a jebo 180 protein skimmer and a emperor 400? i want to see if i can go with out a wet dry filter

T

thomas712

Adamz
You don't have to have a wet/dry, but don't underfilter your tank. I would have at least two emeror 400's, a good 2 inch or more sandbed, and some rock live or base. A cpouple of Maxijet 900 powerheads. All that as a minimum for filtration.
just a suggestion

adamz

yeah theres gonna be over 1000 gph being pushed int the tank the protein skimmer does 600 and the emporer well oblviously it does 44 hunderd but the protein skimmer comes with a pump uhh starts with a v and its a 1500, i will also have alot of live rock i work at a pet store so get good deals on it with me discount:happy:

B

bluedolphi