Wet/Dry?

elkhntr

I am just starting out in this hobby. And I am not quit sure how the wet/dry system works. I have a 125 gal tank. Is there anyone who can tell me how to set one up? Thanks

A wet / dry filter will more or less acta as a system for cultivating bacteria. It works by tanking a material, wether bio-balls or sintered glass that has alot of surface area for growing bacteria. That is the wet section. The dry is the adition of oxygen, sometimes through a spray bar to the material. Thsi helps keep the bacteria healthy and growing. THe bacteria are what you want. They will take care of your amonia and nitrites, however this can be accomplishes through a deep sand bed and live rock. It is really your call. I prefer to have alot of live rock, as to me it looks better. However I also had on hand a Ehiem 2227 wet/dry so now I use both. I have a 55g tank with 60 lbs or live rock, a 4" sand bed and the filter, needless to say I dont have amonia problems.

elkhntr

I am putting a Bamboo Shark in it. And I read that they need as much room on the bottom as possible. What about a refugium? Will that be better instead of the live rock. I am not quite sure how to set one of those up. I have seen some pictures, but not sure what to get.

mrmaroon

If you are not sure on how to do all of this I would definately wait on the bamboo shark. They are not usually a "first" purchase. And more than likely it will end up dying in your tank if you don't have some experience first.

mrmaroon

My point is that if you do not have much experience in keeping marine fish, I would hate to see you "lose" (kill) an animal that you are not ready for. But I am sure you may try it anyway and i wish you the best of luck.

I cant advise you as to the shark because I have never had one, but I really do suggest some LR, If your not going to use much of it go with the wet/dry. I recomend the ehiem 2227, I was happy with it. It runs around $200

surfnturf