what did i get with my new mushrooms?

jacrmill

I recently upgraded my lighting and decided to try my first coral. I started with some purple mushrooms that seem to be doing well, but thats not really my point. The rock they came on had these things attached. I tried to figure out what they were, but its really tough to tell based on some different pictures I looked at. Let me know what you guys think....(this is the first time i have uploaded pictures to this site, so hopefully it looks ok).

jacrmill

so you think it is a type of coral that was still on the rock? sorry like I said, I am new to this reef thing.

teresaq

The first looks like a coral, not sure what though. looks like something was fragged off, and its regrowing.
the second looks like sponges

the third, need a better picture if posible.
T

yosemite sam

Yeah,the first one looks like a ricordia. I'm not sure what I'm supposed to be looking at in the second one, there's a yellow sponge in the lower left, but I don't know what the other objects are in the center. The things in the last photo look like hydroids, which are bad and a pain to get rid of. One of the easiest things to do is cover them with underwater epoxy.

jacrmill

this is the only place they are in my tank, can i just scrape them off? I thought hydroids were like a small jellyfish, these look like plants? can hydroids look like little plants growing on the rock?

jacrmill

I hope this is a better picture of the last one....Ive done a little research and see that hydroids have a polyp stage, which if they are hydroids they would be in that. but I also see that there are harmless hydroids and some crappy ones.....if these are hydroids, can you tell what type they are? If not I would rather not risk it, is there a way to just get rid of them while they are still in their polyp stage? does covering them with underwater epoxy work? Thanks for the help again....

D

dennis210