What else do I need before my wife makes me sell my tank?

Weatherboy

Yeah, she's frustrated. I told her I was a noob. I torched both my urchins, both my shrimp, half the CUC along with most of my corline algae while trying to make my tank clear.

So I now have 2 Marineland 350s and a corilife turbo twist 3x with a brand new bulb and 2 new powerheads on my 75 gal to try and clear my tank. Its better after a couple days. Plus adding Prime daily as instructed.

What else do I need for a FOWLR?

Wife is asking me to sell it.

Torn.

Thanks for everyone's help!

jay0705

Lol patients. Your trying to do too much too fast. Nothing good happens fast in sw. Your tank will clear up just stop changing stuff. Hands off!!!! Do nothing except maybe a 5-10 gal water change ever 2 weeks

lmforbis

The one more thing you need is time and patience, oops that's 2 related though. It takes a good 6 months or more for a tank to begin to stabilize. Maybe a year before things start to run smoothly.

Weatherboy

Okay. Been 4 months. You answered my question on how long to wait!

So...should I wait another 2 months before I add more shrimp, extra CUC or urchin?

Hope my coraline come back too.

One final question. My Majano worms are all hidden ant won't come out. Not a huge deal, but told that's sometimes a sign of bad water?
All my test are cool.

Last edited:

beaslbob

first of all stop using prime. It locks ammonia sure but also locks up oxygen. Plus most ammonia test kits still test positive form ammonia (can't tell the difference between free and locked), so you can add more prime when It is not necessary. the first dose locked up the ammonia for instance. Then the following doses locked up more and more oxygen so that live stock could die from suffocation with the same symptoms as ammonia.