what exactly is "cycling"?

nicole

Ok excuse my ignorance, I am new to whole salt water thing. I keep hearing and reading about the "cycling" of a tank. What exactly does this mean and how do you know what stage of the cycle your tank is at? I have a one month old 20 gallon tank with lots of live rock and I just recently added a damsel and a clown. And what's with all the ugly brown algae on the glass and substrate? Does this have anything to do with the cycling and will it ever stop?

pufferlover

Nicole; Rather then go thru a length answer I might suggest if you look up at the top right just under New Topic there is a item in red marked search click on that and type in cycle or tank cycle and you will find more then you probably want to know. Being new here you may not have found that section but it is a god send to covering a somewhat complex topic that has been discussed quite often. If you don't find what you want there come on back and we will go from there. Note' the brown stuff just means you are on your way to the cycle's end.

nicole

Thanks. I hadn't explored the "search" feature yet. You're right, there was more than I wanted to know! :)

pufferlover

Great I'm glad it helped you. I might just mention here that some of the sharks (I am not trying to speak for all of them) have discussed back and forth the many over lapping questions that appear over and over. It has been realized I think that many of our new members like nicole have been a bit overwhelmed by all the graphics and things here. In my case I am trying to refer the new people to the search feature so that they will get a broad view of their question as opposed to a few answers from the older members who have grown weary of the question being asked. I to use the search when I need details on a problem and usually find a lot of help there.

beth

Administrator
Staff member