what is the most easy coral to frag?

T

tizzo

Depends on the tools you have.
But the absolute easiest are the acropora SPS's with a pair of bone cutters... Snip, snip, snip. You can frag up a whole coral in less than a minute.
Sidenote though, they are all easy if you have the right tools and aren't afraid of what your doing. But the SPS's are so quick, that I consider them the easiest.

hunt

right now im thinking about getting a colt coral or an acropora what do you think is easier also what other corals do you suggest (im a complete beginner at this so i need a real hardy coral)

T

tizzo

Your a beginner at corals in general? Or your a beginner at fragging?
I'd recomend completely different corals based on your answer.

hunt

Originally Posted by Tizzo
http:///forum/post/3219277
Your a beginner at corals in general? Or your a beginner at fragging?
I'd recomend completely different corals based on your answer.
corals in general i guess. I have successfully raise purple mushrooms. But i want to get another coral. Im only learning about fragging just in case.

T

tizzo

Well, mushrooms are a good start. The next on the list is just as easy, only a little more expensive. Your colt is a great idea. A toadstool, palys, a cabbage leather, and some bland colored zoas.
All of those should do just fine if your mushrooms did ok.
Acropora is a way more sensative coral, and you'd really wanna work your way up to that via softies, which your doing, then LPS's then easy sps's THEN the acros. Since they can be pretty pricey, your really taking a risk jumping straight to those.
All softies are easy to frag...again, pending what tools you have.
A colt coral only needs a simple pair of scissors that you don't mind getting saltwater on.
Shrooms are fraggable with a flathead screwdriver.
Zoas are tougher but I let them spread onto terricotta or porcelain tiled and I razor them right off since it's a smooth surface.
Toadstool and cabbage...scissors also.

hunt