Will a Mandarin eat...

meowzer

Originally Posted by kaseykagan
http:///forum/post/3224414
Amphipods?
YES...and NO LOL
It is my understanding that they will eat them when they are still small..,I have LOADS of amphipods and a Mandarin too. I think a lot of mine are too big

kaseykagan

We just added a Mandarin to our tank. The LFS said he would eat Brine Shrimp, but he don't seem too interested in them when I put them in the tank. We do have Copepods but how many do you need to sustain a Mandarin? In the nite when i shine a light in at the rocks I constantly see copepods and Amphipods on the rocks. As long as they are visable in the tank do that mean there should be enough!

twood

I am no expert on Mandarins, but do have one myself. I have read that you need at least 100 lbs. of live rock in a tank that is at least a year old in order to have enough copepods to sustain a Mandarin. I have also read that even if you meet this, that Mandarins will still often starve to death. It was recommended to train Mandarins to eat frozen mysis shrimp.