Xenia and Clavularia

notsonoob

One day I woke up and my Xenia disappeared and about a week later my Clavularia started not to come out.
Everything else in the tank is doing well. Everything has tested out ok.
I have a co-worker that has the same problem and we are running through the list of ideas from salt brand to city water issues. I run RO and he runs RODI.
So far both of our tanks have tested ok.
Also, the algea content on the glass has increased for him notably.
I am just wondering if anybody else has the same issue.
Salt -- Instant Ocean
Additives -- Reef Plus with Reef Trace and Kalkwasser drip.

nycbob

what kind of light do u hv? xenia is a weird coral, even if ur water is perfect. cloves, on the hand, shouldnt be difficult. why use io? why not reef crystal if u r keeping corals?

notsonoob

I am investigating other brands. Actually I have been using IO since the start when I was a full fledged NOOB
I am looking at the alternatives out there.
We have two seperate tanks with the same issue. The only thing similar is that we traded some corals. I got one of his kenya trees. We have even been considering chemical warfare between the corals.
Both of us use Reef Plus, Instant Ocean (actually been using the same bucket for about 9 months and only a problem now). And we both have Kenya trees from the same source.
Other than that, the only thing we can consider is that we use the same municiple source of water in Florida. He told me earlier that he had the Xenia for years with no problem, but moving to PSL, Florida he noticed a difference.

steelytom