Yellow Algae

andre120

Hi everyone, I have a 180G tank and its starting to show yellow algae all over it. Not sure what could be causing it. I tested the water and all seems ok. My PH is fine as well as the nitrite. I started this tank about 4.5 weeks ago. Any help is appreciated.

florida joe

Your tank is still evolving algae in its self is not a bad thing it consumes nutrients like nitrates and phosphates from fish waste. Encroachment is a problem as well as ascetics. Yellow though mostly seen in swimming pools can accrue in our aquariums. Check your lighting as well as your phosphate and nitrate levels you essentially need to starve the undesirable algae or incorporate a large enough cleaner crew for your tank and go with grazing fish if you like
oh and welcome

andre120

Thank you for your reply. I just purchased a pack of cleaning crew for the tank. Hopefully that should help. I'm new to new to this and have no knowledge on saltwater tanks. Your help is much appreciated. Should I do a 10% water change and clean the algae or just wait for the cleaning crew to see if that helps. The water is not too clear.

florida joe

Water changes are an essential part of aquarium husbandry. With all do respect I suggest you stop right where you are continue to feed your bio filter. Invest in some good books ask questions until your hands hurt from typing. A 180 g tank is a wonderful tank many of us can only dream of a tank that size. Please do your self a favor takes your time. Trust me on this in the long run with the info you gain by your own research and picking the brains of the very knowledgeable people here you will have a tank to be proud of

beth

Administrator
Staff member
Diatoms (actually not algae). If your tank has live rock in it, and use RO/DI water, this will come under control. If it is a FO tank and you use tap water, you many always have this problem.
Welcome to Saltwaterfish.com!

andre120