Zoos toxic?

kimgpk

Alright I wasn't sure where to post this because i am a newb. But I was surfing the web looking for info about zoos, wanted to know more about them, looking to get some in the future. I came across a page that says that they have a very deadly toxin in them. Does anyone have any info?

nm reef

There are several sources that document the toxins produced by some types of zooanthids....a search here can turn up some previously discussed information and as you've already found several on-line sources have information. Basically they do contain some very toxic stuff and care needs to be taken to prevent exposure...but with proper care there is limited potential for exposure.

nm reef

Here is fine.....I need to run out for a few....when I return I'll check back and if somebody hasn't located some specific info for you I'll look for it myself. There once was a very informative thread here that discussed the topic in detail.

dogstar

Cut and paste from another trusted site.......
Zoanthus and Palythoa both contain very toxic chemicals, that are dangerous to both reef inhabitants and humans. The most well known is Palytoxin, which has been documented as one of the most poisonous marine toxins known (Mereish et al, 1991). Palytoxin can affect the heart, muscles, and nerves leaving its victim in paralysis, and possibly death. Because of the toxin, you should never handle Zoanthus or Palythoa with open wounds, nor should you touch your mouth or eyes after handling the species. (Editors’ note: We recommend the use of disposable latex gloves) When propagating either of the species, it is critical to remember that the slightest rub of an itchy eye, or even a small cut from a hang nail, might be enough to land you in the hospital. In the aquarium, some rapid growing Zoanthus colonies can be aggressive to stony and soft corals, but in general, they are very peaceful, and you can slow the growth rate by the controlling the overall nutrient load of your tank.