Fast and furious water changes!!!!!!!!

reeferdc

Ok I have asked similar questions on this board before but I never really got a good answer.
But anyways here is the deal. I started my tank up about 6 months ago and filled it with TAP WATER. Now 6 months later I have ALOT of algea I just started useing RO water and my plan is to do weekly 50% water changes.. My tank is FO with no live rock.. Will changeing this much water hurt my tank??? Will it make my water clear and my algea go away??? If so how long will it take??
Any help would be auesome!!!!
Thanks,

C

civileng68

I am by no means an expert but I will tell you what others told me when I started.
I never used tap water but I dont know if that's all of your problem.
Do you have proper filtration and water movement?
Also, how long do you keep your lights on? I had an algae outbreak, BIG TIME and reduced the time the lights were on an WHOOLAAA! HUGE reduction in algae!
Also they said to me not to change 50% at one time. That's too much. They said do a max of 25% change (and you can do that daily if you like). That way you are not removing too many of the good bacteria and replacing it with empty water.
Basically I was told if you remove TOO much water from a cured tank at one time, you are nearly starting all cycles over again.

1journeyman

Bacteria is growing on the surfaces in your tank, not really floating around... water changes won't make your tank cycle.
Tap water could definitely be the cause of algae due to phosphate levels.
Pre-mix your saltwater, aerate it and let it sit overnight, and make sure that it is at proper temp and pH. Then you could do 25-30% changes every 3 or 4 days for a few changes.

dogstar

If PH and temp and SG. is very close then you can do up to 100 %. Unless you have really high levels when testing then worry about shocking the fish instead of a cycle.

mikeyjer

Originally Posted by Dogstar