Feeding a Little Mouth

aceguitar1

Hello,
I have a green clown goby and he's a tiny little booger right now. I added him to the tank Sunday, and I can tell he's hungry. The pellets and flake I have tried seem too big for him (he takes them in, then spits them out several times). Don't worry, he has managed to get several meals since I have gotten him, including frozen food. However, I was wondering if you guys had a better technique for feeding the smaller mouthed fish in your tanks?

jaodissa

frozen food with a syringe is how I have been doing it. Today my little guy knew what was going on and almost sucked it out of the syringe lol.

aceguitar1

Haha, yeah... My clownfish has it down to a science, but the clown goby is still trying to figure things out. I'm trying to give some variety in my fish's diet though, so do you only feed frozen food to your little one? (By the way, if you don't mind me asking, what is he?)

aceguitar1

Oh nice. I'm new at this too... My clown fish can handle smaller pellets and frozen food pretty well. He struggles with the flakes sometimes though. He will actually come right up to my hand and eat the pellets out of my fingers! haha, it's pretty cool...

aceguitar1

I'm considering grinding up a pellet or two in order to get him to start eating these. However, I fear the degradation of my water quality as a result. Any suggestions anyone?

aceguitar1

Well no, it'll take to the frozen food right away (size is fine with those), but is there any food in pellet or flake form that would go well with it's diet? Or any way you've prepared yours to make it more suitable for a smaller mouth?

katsafados

I dont really feed my fish pellet or flake food. Just feed them frozen.
I also had a green clown goby, but it has dissapeared without a trace(no ammonia spikes, body parts) just like my green chromis.

katsafados

Nope, just a clown, and a linned blenny. Cant have an anenome b.c of my lights lol.