whats with all this PAR all of a sudden?

nuro

can someone please explain PAR to me, and why its suddenly being quoted as the new standard for lighting in a significatn amount of lighting threads. From my understanding of PAR froma quick google search it looks like it specifically in reference to the sepctrum and how that spectrum will affect clorophyll. why is this being touted as more important then watts per gallon? the basic WPG rules should still apply. as should the K ratign of a the bulbs(which in tunr should affect the spectrum).
I feel like we're overcomplicating things here with PAR all of a sudden.

J

jstdv8

Im new to this but it was my understanding that certain types of bulbs gave off more powerfull helpful light than others. I was told that t5's would give off more helpfull light for the same wattage than a compact flourecent.
I beleive (if this is true) that this is why people are straying from WPG, because it is not apples to apples accross the board from one lighting type to another. Where PAR is PAR. you measure it under the lamps and get a measurement, just like temperature.
Again, Im not an expert, but this is what I've come up with from reading

spanko

PAR = Photosynthetically Active Radiation. A spectral band of solar radiation from 400 to 700 nanometers that photosynthetic organisms are able to use in the process of photosynthesis. If you think in terms of the zooxanthallae that are the symbiotic "photosynthetic organisms", read algae here, that are working with our coral we are trying to suppley the correct spectrums of light in the intesities required to grow this algae. In turn it will supply the needed glucose, glycerol, and amino acids, which are the products of photosynthesis so that the coral can grow.
High end explanation there but you get the point. Light in the correct range helps the algae to grow and that helps the coral to grow.

dean1956