When can I add a cleaner crew?

cyn

I am new to this hobby, my tank has been up for over 2 months and all of the parameters are great and very stable. (the only one I have not tested is Phos.) I plan on getting a test kit for that this weekend. I am curious to know if I can begin adding a clean er crew and anenomies yet. The tank is a 55 with about 65lbs of LR, combination cc and ls about 3inches total. I only have a brittle star, midas goby and some mushrooms that came with the rock. At night when I peek with a flashlight, the pods are plentiful along with bristle worms and small snails. If you all need more info, just ask. I really want to do this right!

dad

CYC, I just replyed to a post where you was asking on how much ls to add? hummmmmm
I'm now confused.
But never the less, I think in response to the post: I feel like you started out on the wrong foot!
I do not want to sound harsh but, the mixture of cc and ls are a no no. You will regret it later.
How did you cycle your tank? Or did it?

cyn

I cycled the tank with LR, and it has cycled. I want to change to LS, but can not afford the carrib.sea stuff. So I am trying to get southdown from you know where. I guess I am impatient. Are you saying that I should wait until I change out the cc? I really apreciate all of the help, I read alot before I started, but I guess the info was dated. I really want to do this right.

dad

I understand now, ;)
This is what I would do. I'm sure others have other opinions.
since you have already spent money on the ls and you are on a tight bubget, stop where you are at and do not buy anything else.
get rid of all the cc you can.
It will be a slow process.
buy a small fish net and start sifting through the sand. (straining out the cc).
get rid off all you can. then build up your dsb to about 4" with southdown.
all of this will take alot of time and patiece. do it alittle at a time, this may keep the cloudy water down.