New 36 gallon bow front.

I'm wanting to start a salt water tank. As seen its going to be a 36 gallon and it's not to small but not big enough for me to not handle. I am doing this size so that I can see if this is really what I really want to do later down the road with a bigger aquarium.

What am I going to need besides the canister filter and the skimmer? And the live sand and rock? For this size tank? Again I'm new at this so please take it easy.

jay0705

Try a hob filter instead of a canister. Skimmer isn't needed if you just want fowlr. You will need a good heater. I suggest a refractometer over a hydrometer. Also sand over crushed coral.

lmforbis

And no need for live sand regular argonite sand is fine. I agree with Jay that a hang on the back filter would be a better choice. Canisters work if you clean them weekly but that is a lot of work with a canister when a hang on the back works just as well and the maintenance is easier = more likely to be done.
A couple other things you will need:
A good book on salt water aquariums. Salt water for dummies is supposed to be good.
A source of RODI (reverse osmosis deionized water) for making salt water and topping off evaporated water.
A couple five gallon buckets for mixing water- to designated saltwater only.
Test kits for ammonia, nitrite, and ammonia.
Two power heads for circulation.
Another thing I see as very important is a small (5 or 10 gallon) aquarium, small heater and another hob filter or an air stone and air pump to us as a quarantine tank. The quickest way to get disillusioned with salt water is to get a disease in the tank. Diseases run rampant in the wholesalers tanks. Thirty days for all fish in a quarantine for observation. If a disease pops up most need 30 days of treatment. Some choose to treat Immediately to play it safe. Never buy fish at ***** as a beginner. They will most likely have multiple diseases.