Additives?

leopard_babe

I am new at this but I have learned alot. Exactally what kind of additives do you mean? Like a dechlorinator?

stacyt

Correct me if I'm wrong, but It's my understanding that additives are not really needed as long as you do frequent water changes. I havn't added anything to my reef, or FOWLR, in about a year. I used to check calcium, but with frequent water changes it has always stayed about 425. PH stays at 8.2. All the crabs, shrimps, and corals seem to be doing well. I do add some DT's, but thats it.

I'm making a price list of everything I need for my sw 200 gallon so I can know how much money will be required for the set-up from the start. In going through dry goods lists, I noticed the additives and wondered if they were actually worth the money and, if so, which were the best. I want to know everything I can about what is needed for my tank before I start, instead of going out with a set amount of money and discovering I still need this and that. Thanx!

leopard_babe

i might be of some good help to you. I set my tank up about 5 days ago. I had to go and buy evrything. I did exactally what you did and made a list. I left somethings out that I would have never figured out. I have no additives in my tank. However when starting my tank I used tap water and used a dechlorinator. after my tank is established I am using RO water.

birdy

Jillian, the only thing I add to my tank is kalk, dripped in. I do have ph and alk buffer just in case but have only used them a couple times. Water changes and the kalk keep my alk, pH, and Ca in the correct level. I do not add anything to my tank that I cannot test, I am contimplating getting a test for magnesium, strontium and iodine, then you know if you need to add anything, but I have been told many times that water changes should keep Mag, Str. and iodine in the correct levels.