Anyone with successful reef without a fuge/sump?

timsedwards

Hi Guys,
Just wondered, does anyone have a good/successful reef tank without the aid of a sump/fuge of any kind? If so can they post pics?
Thanks!
Tim.

nas19320

I consider my reef to be pretty successful so far though still rather young and I don't have a sump or refuge.

suver569

Oh sure, I had a fuge setup for about a month, but one of the seams split. I abandoned the fuge, and wasnt able to setup another. I've been running for about 8 months with no fuge quite well.
No pic yet, waiting for my mother in law to forward me the pics from her camera. Might have them today.

beth

Administrator
Staff member
My tank is setup without fudge or sump. I have several PHs and a skimmer.

F

fishlovr

My 75 is sumpless. I have a Remora Pro, an Emperor 280 and an Emperor 400 on it. I also have several powerheads running. I just got actinic 03's to replace the 7100K bulbs that came with my CSL PC hood. I really like them soooo much better! It has been doing quite well for about a year:) HTH
fishlovr

F

fishlovr

Good skimmer, weekly water changes, not overfeeding, seem to work for me:)

F

fishlovr

I do about 10 percent every week to 10 days......I also run PhosBan in a media container inside my Emperor 400 all the time. Once a month I run extra carbon in a Magnum 350 canister for a few hours.
HTH
fishlovr

suver569

I do about 5% every other week. Been a rough year for money, so I'll be picking it up a bit now that i'm working again. 10% a week is about what i'll be doing.
Dont get me wrong, a fuge is in the works again. The benifits IMO, are huge. They are definately not 100% required.
My LFS has 2 extremly successful tanks, make that 3 setup in there store with nothing more than LR, DSB, and a protein skimmer. Lights of course.

schneidts

Fishlovr, your tank looks great!:yes: I'm starting my 55 gal real soon and have been fighting with the decision to go fuge or not. Think I'll start w/out and add later.