Brand Spanking New - 29g build

clink51

Hi everyone.

Ive been keeping fish for a little over 3 years and have finally decided to commit the biggest sin in FW fish keeping...I'm going Salt!! I have a 29g at home that currently houses the last of my Lake Tanganyika shell dwellers which will be sold in the upcoming weeks. so now i must start planning for my new adventure. This tank will be ASTHETICALLY for my girlfriend, but characteristic wise for me. so i need pretty fish with awesome personalities. I would like corals in the future but will be keeping it FOWLR until the tank has been setup for at least 6-8 months and no major deaths have occured.

WHAT I HAVE:
- 29 gallon (standard dimensions)
- Maxijet 1200
- Marineland C-160 Canister Filter
- 30 pounds of Lace rock from my previous setup
- 150watt heater
- standard light

WHAT I WILL BE GETTING:
- 15 pounds of Live rock
- Live Sand
- Sea Salt
- 2 t-5 lights
- Test Kits
- HOB Protein Skimmer

LIVE STOCK I WOULD LIKE:
- 2 Clowns
- Goby ( Dont know what kind)
(Thats all i have so far LOL)

CUC:
(Took this from a pre made list that i found good)
3 bumble bee snails
3 nerite snails
4 peppermint shrimp
2 cleaner shrimp
2 red leg hermits
Maybe a starfish?

My questions:
Do i need a Sump?
What other fish can i put in?
is a PS needed?
are additives needed
can i get away without having to purchase an RO filter?
do i need more powerheads?
- which way do they need to point

Thanks in advance for all the help that will be posted and or suggested. Im good with criticism so please feel free to do so.

beaslbob

watch out for starfish---- some eat fish.
I would add a refugium full of macros.
It is the marine equilivant to a planted FW setup.
And balances out and stabilizes operation to be forgiving of my type errors.
still just my .02

clink51

refugium huh?