Canister Filters, best - worst?

firedog

I have Fluval and I am happy with them (one ea for my fresh and saltwater tanks).
But you can't count my opinion because I haven't used another brand of canister.

partsman

i've been very happy with my Fluval 404 over the last years , first using it on a fish only rank with full chambers . now with the conversion to reef i'm only running carbon - with of course the mechanical filter pads .
works 4 me anyway...............and has been the most reliable so far i've used .
Michael
Katrina Land , louisiana

dragonzim

I've been using an Eheim 2217 for about 2 years now. Aside from cleaning it out every few months its been maintenance free and VERY effective. I havent used any other brands though so I really dont have a good comparison.

ty dragon

I love the Eheim on Turtle tanks...Haven't used them on Fish though....They don't clog as fast as the Fluvals do nor the Proquatics (Petsmart) junk ones.
Just a PITA to clean out....But I think all of them are a PAIN....The Eheims fill from the bottom and clean comes out of the top...Lots of room for the bio stuff !!!

S

saltlight

I have the Filstar XP3. Very easy to clean and does a great job with the water. I like the flexibility with adding media to the top basket!
saltlight

69stang

i have been using a magnum 350 for 12 yrs. it still works great, easy to clean, and you can buy a pro with bio wheel and attachments for $89. online. i also have a fluval and i think it is a pain in the butt. just my opinion, go with your gut

lion_crazz

Originally Posted by Cartman101
I dont have one, should I get one of these?
No, as long as you have a filter, you are fine. This is just another type. I still like sumps the best.

yimmy

I have a nu-clear canister...cost like 160$ though...I'm upgrading to a sump and skimmer and stuff soon

saltfan