Difference between PC's and T-5's?

bizzmoneyb

Im still learning about this whole lighting thing.. but what exactly makes T-5's superior to PC's? Im saying wattage for wattage here. What would make a 250 watt T5 setup superior to a 250 watt PC setup? I dont understand why?
I understand the physical differences, T-5s are smaller, cheaper, and consume less energy.. im talking about what is the difference in providing light to the tank. Ive been reading that some corals wont make it with PC's but will with T-5s. Why?

perfectdark

Originally Posted by BizzMoneyB
http:///forum/post/2731038
Im still learning about this whole lighting thing.. but what exactly makes T-5's superior to PC's? Im saying wattage for wattage here. What would make a 250 watt T5 setup superior to a 250 watt PC setup? I dont understand why?
I understand the physical differences, T-5s are smaller, cheaper, and consume less energy.. im talking about what is the difference in providing light to the tank. Ive been reading that some corals wont make it with PC's but will with T-5s. Why?
Nothing at all, unless you add a couple of things. One being make the T5's High out put, this increases their lumens per watt to more than what PC's or std flourescent are. And the other thing is to add individual reflectors over each bulb (something you cannot do with PC's). Parabolic reflectors are best, this redirects any wasted light down into the tank where it will benefit the most. Now you have a light fixture far superior to PC's or Std Flourescent.

bang guy

Restrike is when light from a bulb strikes the bulb. This situation is incredibly inefficient.
PC bulbs have a huge amount of restrike because the bulb is U shaped and light from one side directly strikes the other side. All of that light is wasted energy . Also because of the shape a significant amount of light bounces off the reflector restrikes the bulb.