dosing calcium. never done it, just want to make sure im doing it correctly.

kilofey

Currently, my calcium is at 340 ppm. It should be 400-450 right?
I bought Kent calcium... they had red sea as well, but the LFS guy reccomended Kent if I've never used calcium products before (they were the same price, so I trusted the advice). Do I just dose the tank and test it the next day and dose again and test the next day and so on until I'm @ around 420 ppm? What will happen if I over dose the tank? Will it cause other test readings be out of whack? Like a domino effect. I've never dosed my tank with anything but dechlorinator, though I don't think I even need that cause I have a rodi unit.

deton8it

If I were you I would go buy a test kit for Magnesium (Mg) first. Without getting in to too much detail and chemistry, Calcium (Ca) and Mg go hand in hand. Cliff Notes version- if your Mg is too low, it doesn't really mater how hard you try to raise your Ca, it just wont raise. I learned this after dosing Ca in my tank for almost 2 months without seeing significant changes. When I tested Mg I learned that I was WAY low (~900 ppm). Natural seawater is ~ 1300-1500 ppm. BTW, my Ca was~ 260-ish. I hope this helps and saves you some time in the long run.
John

btldreef

^ I agree. You really want to know all three numbers: Ca, Mg and dKH (alkalinity)
Kent is a decent Ca to dose with.
Were you noticing issues with corals?
What salt do you use? And what salinity level do you keep your tank at?

bang guy

^^ what they said.
I would like to add that 340ppm Ca is low but it's still high enough to grow coral.
The more important parameter is carbonate alkalinity. What is the Alkalinity level?
Take the Magnesium comment above to heart. Ensure it's not low before dosing.
You asked what happens if you overdose Calcium. It depends on how high but it's all bad.
If it's just a little high nothing happens.