Fighting False Percs.

brycelowe

I have a 10 gallon comunity tank. I purchased an ocellaris about 5 weeks ago and "he" (I think) diid well but never aproched the sebae nem so I picked up one this weekend that was hosting a sebae nem at the LPS and "she" is much larger and hosted my sebae the third day (today). things seemed well untill "she began to attack my smaller clown. I'm not sure if this is normal or should I be concerned. they are both equaly involved in the altercation. they both fight. it;s not just one being a bully. I dont know what I should do.
Attachment 214292

mboswell1982

maybe let em fight it out, they're prolly trying to establish dominance, and will hopefully eventually mate up, its just gonna get brutal for a while while they are establishing who's in charge LOL

mboswell1982

dude, to be perfectly honest, i have no actual experience, just a ton of research, but, ive read that they do exactly what urs are doing when they're trying to pair up, basically, they're tryin to figure out who's gonna be the female, the butch, an who's gonna be the male, the biatch LOL
im hopin someone else who's got more experience, since i have none :p no tank as of yet for me LOL will chime in an help us both out,cause i wanna know too LOL

kevin34

they look like they are the same size and yes it is common. I am pretty sure the one that "wins" will become the female and the more dominant one in the pair. Its usually best to buy one smaller than the other. With my true percs the larger one does chase the smaller one around usually but never hurts it. and the smaller one always backs down. If it really gets serious maybe try to divide them but they should work it out.

lmecher