Ich!!!!

crox

I started my 75 gallon tank two months ago. I have appox 100lbs of live rocks and 50lbs of live sand. After I had the tank running for about 2 months my 3 damels I introduced last week several fishes. A saddleback butterfly, a coral beauty, a friedmani, a royal gramma 2 ocellaris and couple other fishes. Last night I saw my coral beauty covered with white spots (probably ich) and severla other fishes with few white dots. This is my first saltwater experience after I had freshwater tanks for approx 15 years. What is the best solution to save my tank?
Please HELP me.

aquapro_1

Buy a few cleaner shrimp. They eat ich!! Cleaners will set up a cleaning station & the fish will wait in lines to get their turn....AMAZING TO WATCH!!
It beats putting them in qt with copper coated meds. Inverts not allowed!! Instant death!! Water changes help the spread of ich while you get you shrimp.

ezee

Crox,
Welcome follow Brooklyn'er!
I am by no means an expert, just an avid reader, so I am going to pass on somethings I have read.
You may have added too many fish at once. Too many, too fast will stress them, making them vulnerable to ich. Kindof like stuffing 30 people in an apartment meant for four people and never letting them out! Immune system will drop and if one person is sick, everyone will get sick. If you have another tank try to separate/QT them.
You will, very likely, need to QT your fish, otherwise your fish may pass the parasite around to each other like a bad cold in an office. For more information look at the top of this forum for QT/hospital tank setup. This is a possibility even if they heal and shake off the ich themselves.
You can set up a QT pretty fast and with not that much cost. Get a long clean rubbermaid [$10], a power filter [$20] and a heater [$20], to start. You should also provide some hiding places with PVC pipes in the tank. Don't add any LR or Sand. You can use this everytime you add a new fish, just to make sure it is clean and healthy.